Never be disappointed

Today, in reflecting upon the Floyd Mayweather and Manny Pacquiao fight, I saw a picture. On the one side was Floyd in his bed with a stack of money. The other side of the picture showed Manny, sitting on the side of his bed, Scripture opened. The contrast really struck me. Here are two men at the top of their professions, yet walking two very distinct lifestyles. The fight, which happened this last Saturday, left Pacquiao defeated and Mayweather walked away as the reigning champ. But what does that mean?

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

I would like to introduce a word here, and that word is PEACE! When I look into the picture of Manny Pacquiao, and not only at this picture, but at this man’s life (or at least the public portion of it), the word Peace seems appropriate. He lost in the fight to Floyd, but I must admit, I am not worried about Manny. He will be OK. He knows that God has a purpose for him.

On the other hand, Floyd Mayweather has just further solidified his champion status in the world of boxing by winning the fight. He has earned hundreds of millions of dollars and has all of the fame in the world. And yet, I am worry about Floyd. He looks alone to me all of the time. It’s a strange feeling, to see someone who is surrounded by so many people, so much money, he’s always talked about, his personality is internationally known. Yet, I still sense that he is alone in this world. And I mourn for him.

I want to mention that I mean no disrespect to Floyd, but it is such an amazing proverb to me when I look at the lives of these two individuals. On the one hand, I see a person who has lost the biggest fight of his career. All I see in his life is PEACE and HOPE! On the other hand, a person who is continuing to define his champion status and all I see is sadness, loneliness and loss. God save him!

Psalm 37:37 says: “Consider the blameless, observe the upright; there is a future for the man of peace.”

John 16:33 says: “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

Click to learn about me

One thought on “Never be disappointed”

Leave a Reply

